Sunday, 18 September 2011

Types of vegetarianism - a confusing subject

Vegetarian – one who does not eat meat of any kind, this will include red meat, white meat, fish and fowl and pretty much anything that had a face, despite some popular beliefs. Though a vegetarian may still eat cheese and dairy products including milk and eggs, this would be known as ovo-lacto vegetarian. If the vegetarian ate eggs but not dairy along with their meat free diet they would be called an ovo-vegetarian, and if they ate dairy but no eggs the term would be lacto-vegetarian.

Demi vegetarian – otherwise known as semi vegetarian. This diet in simple terms would be high plant based with white meats instead of reds. White meats including chicken or turkey etc. and this diet will also include fish. This diet is obviously healthier than a diet high in red meats and is often used as a stepping stone on the road to vegetarianism and maybe even veganism. This diet does unfortunately enforce the misunderstanding that vegetarians eat fish.

Vegan – one who does not consume any form at all of animal foods or by-products of animal foods in their diet. This means no meat (including fish), no dairy products and no eggs, nor anything containing these. Vegans also do not eat honey. Some vegans will also be conscious of items in their everyday lives too, including clothing like wool and leather, make up that may be tested on animals and even cleaning products for the house. Although the term vegan refers only to the diet. There are also divisions or sub-divisions within veganism including Raw vegan, fruitarian, juicarian (or liquidarian) and even the most unthought-of, breatharian.
I hope I have helped to make this clearer.

Kyle Kendall

No comments:

Post a Comment